(DVD)House M.D.


 Casts : Hugh Laurie, Lisa Edelstein, Omar Epps, Robert Sean Leonard, Jennifer Morrison, Jesse Spencer.

I did a scan on my reviews of TV series and could not believe I left out HOUSE M.D.!  I am a huge fan of this series though currently I am playing catch up and watching the 3rd Season.  So what is so great about this tv series…..well here is a little bit of what it is all about first….

Gregory House, MD (played by Hugh Laurie), is an observational genius with the ability to see a pattern in small things and draw conclusions from that. Dr. House is a diagnostician instead of a detective like the great Sherlock Holmes so instead of criminals, the enemies are germs, diseases and other vulnerabilities of the human body, which are tracked and hunted down.

The stories usually follow the pattern of the scientific method: The team thinks up possibilities based on the evidence and then tests them, eliminating the ones that don’t pass the tests until they come up with a theory that works. Or as Sherlock Holmes said, “When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” Some critics have derided the plots for being formalistic, but if through interesting fiction, the writers are demonstrating how science works, there is genius in their method.

Now let’s see what I love about the series….

  • Great casts complementing one another to give you a rounded and brilliant portrayal of their characters.
  • Hugh Laurie is fantastic as the highly intelligent, bitter, witty, cranky lead! He brings a wicked charm to his character.
  • The writers keep the stories fresh, exciting and intellectually stimulating.

In fact this little snippet of a review by MNDOC sums it up for me….

Let me put it simply. I am a physician, and as an inviolable rule, I HATE medical shows. Granted, TV series tend to be one dimensional, due to inherent difficulties in the genre, but “doctor shows” are something I avoid like the proverbial plague.

And then one evening I caught “House, MD” and was completely drawn into the show. In House I find the anti-hero that I’ve been waiting for in a medical show. The guy who knows everything, but is wrong often enough to keep us all guessing. I enjoy the contrast of House and his cadre of young fresh faced colleagues, complete with starched white lab coats, who struggle as much with their professionally imposed constraints, and sense of decorum, as they do with his personality. And, wonder of wonders, the use of ironic and tragic comedy is without peer in what I’ve seen in the TV world in recent memory. In a nutshell, I really never know what any given character will say or do and it’s that freshness that will keep me coming back for more. Somewhere there is a team of writers who actually know their craft, and an acting ensemble that knows how to pull it off. Now I can watch my TV one hour a week……..

Leave a comment