Tuesdays With Morrie


f6e07153-b545-45dc-9cf2-292a0fd14b5bimg100.jpg1800413770p.jpg

I have been yearning to read this book by Mitch Albom for soooo long now…….I mean how can a book be on the New York Times Bestseller list for more than 4 years and still go unread by me? But I kept putting it off again and again. Then when I found out, that it was made into a Television Movie and available on DVD I decided to borrow it. You simply cannot go wrong with the movie version when the casts includes greats like Jack Lemmon one of my all time favourite actors and Hank Azaria who played his role so well you cannot imagine another actor in his place. I am definitely buying the DVD if I can find it available! Just love everything about it!

Well how can I not blog about it since my blog is about living life with a passion! Anyhow the book/movie is filled with ‘Gems’….some of which I want to list down from memory….because I haven’t got a copy yet.

  • Why are people uneasy with silence or death? Why do they fear it?
  • Death is sad but living unhappily is worse..
  • When you learn how to die, you’ll learn how to live….
  • Forgive everybody, everything don’t wait…Do it now!
  • Death ends a life, not a relationship
  • There is nothing innately shameful about being dependent. When we’re infants we need others to survive. When we’re dying we need others to survive. But here’s a secret…In between we need others even more!
  • Aging isn’t just decay, it’s growth. The fear of aging is life that hasn’t found meaning.
  • Love is the only rational act, let me come in….

Extracted from W.H. Auden’s poem ‘September 1, 1939

“All I have is a voice
To undo the folded lie,
The romantic lie in the brain
Of the sensual man-in-the-street
And the lie of Authority
Whose buildings grope the sky:
There is no such thing as the State
And no one exists alone;
Hunger allows no choice
To the citizen or the police;
We must love one another or die.”

4 Responses

  1. I remember I read this book when it first came out! I received two copies of it for my birthday from two different people. Another of Albom’s books I love is _The Five People You Meet in Heaven_. I don’t think I’ve seen _Tuesday’s with Morrie_ but I watched _Five People_.

    Hmm… although I do like the message and wisdom in the novel, I’m not too fond of Albom’s succinct and direct style of writing.

    But anyway, I’m so glad you finally got around to it; it’s really worth it.

  2. It was a real tear jerker…but then again perhaps it’s just me? Anyhow the wisdom and message is wonderful! Wow what life Morrie led! Simply inspiring…. 😉

    Thanks for your thoughts Kris…

  3. *huggies*

    It’s not just u deary..

    I cried too when reading this book..

    i don’t suppose u have read his two other works yet?

  4. Actually no…just as good? *huggies*

Leave a Reply

