Personal Effectiveness Course Day2 And End


Overall I would say that it was an enjoyable course and would highly recommend it to anyone! Besides they fed us three meals on both days! ha ha…..

Today there were a lot of indoor activities in between to keep us alert and energized. Stuff of which I may not have been able to dream up on my own. egs. A variation of scissors, paper stone to the life cycle of a bird. Or War of the three fiercest warrior clans….hee hee and many others…

The mental stuff consisted mainly of reviewing yesterday’s events, writing our own individual career mission statement and a 30 Day Action plan.

We remained pretty much in our three groups from yesterday….namely green, white and blue. In my opinion my team was the best….*winks* The toughest physical challenge for me today was representing my blue team by holding an approximately 6kg plank overhead with both arms stretched up for slightly more than 15 minutes. It was a real strain all the way down to the lower back but with encouragement from my teammates I managed. In the end it was down to just me and another guy, and to make it more interesting….they placed water bottles on both ends. Well unfortunately one of mine fell off first and the game was over. The ladies had their bit too, which consisted of holding a bat at a 45 degree angle for as long as they could. Overall my team won first prize for our group effort. Then at the end of the day we were asked to vote amongst ourselves…that is at team level which individual we thought stood out from the rest for the past two days in terms of motivation, team spiritedness and so on and so forth. I voted a lady whom I thought was great! And so I was very surprised when my name was called instead to receive a prize. A prize I would definitely cherish! It is a book entitled “Heartsongs” By Mattie J.T. Stepanek an eleven year old boy who died as a result of muscular dystrophy. He was indeed an inspiration for us all…you might have caught him on the Oprah Winfrey show.

heartsongs.jpg

Well I’ll end here with my little mission statement. I decided that as a start I would write something in which would apply both at work and in my personal life…..

My mission statement is….. “To constantly find and develop new ways to enhance my personal growth. To live life with a passion and inspire others to do the same!”

4 Responses

  1. Nice mission statement…:)

  2. Wah! just 15 mins after I’ve posted this entry and you’ve already read it! And thanks! 🙂

  3. I love your mission statement and I’ve read all five of Mattie’s books. Gotta admire him for his optimism, strength and courage! 🙂

  4. Well I’ve always known you to be well read, and thank you so much for your encouragement! *bear hugs* 😉

Leave a Reply

