Little Acts Of Kindness Or Gestures


We often feel as though we live in a cold, cynical world where survival is everything. And there are quite a number of people that quite often or only see others as rude, selfish, self centred,calculative and uncaring. From their waking moment, it’s a battlefield! Finding fault is the ‘Breakfast’ of the day. ‘Land mines’ are everywhere waiting to be stepped on. Before they even arrive at the office, they are already anticipating confrontations and this goes on for the rest of the day. What bitter lives they lead eh?

I am a firm believer of “You Reap What You Sow” and “Treat others as you want to be treated” and that kindness begets kindness. This doesn’t mean that I have no quarrel with anyone, I sometimes do…..rarely but when I do…I DO! hee hee And all this wise and good behaviour goes out the window…even if it’s momentarily.

Okay back the to the subject proper…..I’ve decided that I would like to list down all the little kindnesses or gestures that I have witnessed or encountered. It is in these little acts that makes life great for one and all! Like Mother Theresa once said “Not everyone can do great things, but all of us can do little things with great love.”

Yesterday while on the MRT Train ride home, I saw a man in his late forties with a weary look and a heavy backpack standing next to me. When someone got off, I expected him to rush for the seat. Instead he walked a few steps down to tap the shoulder of a pregnant lady and invited her to have the seat. She was very grateful…..

Then this morning on my way to work, as I was walking pass a void deck driveway to get to the main road, I heard a loud honk that startled me. You see I looked left before crossing, but as I turned to look right this cab must have sped up round the bend and was trying to warn me that he was nearing me on my left. I was a little annoyed but when I looked through the windshield I saw the passenger, an elderly Malay man wearing a songkok giving me a warm smile. He also held up his hand, elbow bent with palm faced out just above his forehead in an apologetic gesture. Well all I can say that it calmed me down straightaway and put a smile on my face.

If you would like to share your similar experiences, I will gladly post it on my blog. Just email me at xxxfly AT gmail dot com.

2 Responses

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    • Why thank you madame…. 😉

Leave a Reply

