Knocking On Heaven’s Door..


When I was very much younger, I had an innate fear of death. Wondering what happens to those who have passed on? What would happen to me when I’m gone? or if I would be all alone in limbo! Then there were other times I would be anxious that the Angel of Death would come for my parents or my sister, this of course came more often in the form of dreams or aptly nightmares!

As you grow older, a little wiser and perhaps a little stronger in your faith. You find that death is not that all scary. I even found comfort in this passage from the bible that reads

“And it came to pass, that, as they went in the way, a certain [man] said unto him, Lord, I will follow thee whithersoever thou goest. And Jesus said unto him, Foxes have holes, and birds of the air [have] nests; but the Son of man hath not where to lay [his] head. And he said unto another, Follow me. But he said, Lord, suffer me first to go and bury my father. Jesus said unto him, Let the dead bury their dead: but go thou and preach the kingdom of God. And another also said, Lord, I will follow thee; but let me first go bid them farewell, which are at home at my house. And Jesus said unto him, No man, having put his hand to the plough, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.”

Well I’m quite sure the various different faiths have their own explanation on what happens when a person dies and their teachings would probably bring them as much comfort as mine has.

As years passed, I noticed or at least I felt that somehow the very good-hearted ones seem to die young or at least before they managed to reach a ripe old age. These are the ones that have either made a big difference in their lives for others, or just simply being cheerful,kind and respectful of others. Perhaps they were called up early for heavenly duties? Well at least that would explain, why I’m still alive? *blinks*

You know what? If I were to die tomorrow, my only real worries would be whether my children will be okay? Will they able to be fend for themselves? Will they receive the love and support they need? Will I be able to receive final absolution? ( haven’t been to church in a while..*blush*) Have I been truly penitent?

As for grieving or mourning for me? I say to my family, if we have learnt anything from our faith then we should rejoice the beginning of one’s life after death!

For you my wife, you are a survivor…… I need you to be strong and to be there for our children. If you miss me, then know that I will always be there in spirit for you. Like the song ‘Love Me’ by Collin Raye, we’ll meet again some day……..And If you find love again, be free to experience it in all it’s glory.

It is always hard to lose someone you love, but life must go on for the living…..live every second to the fullest!

Just my thoughts on death……

3 Responses

  1. yah tt collin raye song is nice

  2. *big big hugs*

  3. Neil: *nods head in agreement*

    Eileen: *bear hugs*

Leave a Reply

