Book Review – The Measure Of A Man By Sydney Poitier


measureofaman.jpg If you have a personal library or a special collection of books that you own, this is surely one you ought to include.

Mr Poitier turning 81 on the 20th of Feb is just three years older than my father, and so I have at least some idea of the era they were born in and the life struggles of that period. I have also watched at least three of his movies when I was very much younger. Two of which will always be remembered fondly, are ‘To Sir With Love’ and ‘Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner’ as they remind me a little of my dad and his life.

This is a wonderfully written autobiography of which he shares many of life lessons and his keen insights on the journey that led him to where he is today. Many will benefit from his wisdom gathered over the years and the eloquence for which he shares his truths. I used to love his portrayal of the characters in the movies and now after reading his book, I have come to admire and respect the man that he is.

Leave a Reply

