L’Air De Rien – Eric Vincent


Thank you Kris for taking the time to translate……….

 

Je suis un chanteur planétaire  I am a planetary (global) singer
Je plane et ne pourrai me taire  I soar and nothing will silence me
Que lorsque mes ailes en poussière Only when my wings (turn) to dust
Se mêleront au sable du désert to mingle in the desert sand 
Alors minable et solitaire So pathetic and lonely
Je prendrai un ticket pour Cythère I will take a ticket for Cythera
Et dans un tourbillon de l’air And in a whirlwind of air
Se volatiliseront mes frontières My boundaries vanish into thin air


Je suis un chanteur sans bannière I am a singer without banner
Ni Dieu ni maître, libertaire Neither God nor master, libertarian
Il y a du blues dans les chaumières There are blues in the cottages
Et sous les bombes des gosses que l’on enterre And under the bombs of the kids that we bury
Alors j’ai le spleen j’sais plus quoi faire So I feel melancholy; I don’t know what to do anymore
Je flippe en fermant les paupières I’m afraid while closing the (my) eyelids [flipper = avoir peur in french – it’s slang for literally “having fear” which in english would translate to being afraid… and body parts -in this case the eyelids- aren’t “possessive” no other real way to put it other than we … don’t “own” our body parts]
Ca tourne pas rond ma pauvre terre It doesn’t go well my poor earth 

Tu perds la boule, moi je perds mes repères You lose your head, she loses her bearings… this is difficult to explain. Perdre le boule (to lose the ball literally) is an expression similar to perdre la tête: lose one’s head (same as perdre ses repères, except it has a different meaning: become desoriented)

Je suis un chanteur débonnaire I am an good-natured singer
Pour une idylle au bord de mer For a romance by the seaside
Et les petits seins d’une marinière And the small bosom of a smock


Je me ferai vicaire dans le Finistère I will curate in Finistère
Je préférerais quand même tant qu’à faire Still, I’d prefer if I could
Finir Brahmane dans les rizières To finish Brahmin in the rice fields
Entouré de petites aux yeux clairs Surrounded by little girls with clear eyes (petite is literally small but it’s a “pet name” to mean little girls)
A qui je dévoilerai mes mystères To whom I will reveal/unveil my mysteries


Je suis un chanteur solidaire I am a benevolent singer The meaning of solidaire here is kindly/benevolent, something like that

Pour mettre la connerie en jachère To engage in stupidity that’s as good as an english translation that both Lény & I could come up with

Faut arrêter de foutre tout par terre gotta stop messing everything up

 

Je deviens vert quand on parle nucléaire I become green when we speak nuclear

Et si tu crois qu’y a rien à faire if you believe there’s nothing we can do .

Voilà un air qui manque pas d’R This is an air which has the nerve Play on words… it was easy for him to explain it to me but coming up with an explantion in english makes it sound… awkward. first of all it comes from the expression ne pas manquer d’air meaning to have a/the nerve and he uses “R” to say it (it refers to l’air) doesnt lack “R” either. simply put… “R” acts as a homophone to “l’air”… The translation that’s associated with this line is the one that we… “hear” first. well … we meaning french speakers I suppose. 

Et l’air de rien pour te distraire (An air) which as the nerve to distract you “L’air de rien” is an expression. ex: Cette plante n’a l’air de rien, mais elle donne de très jolies fleurs/this plant doesn’t look like much, but it has very pretty flowers. As you can see, he uses another expression which includes the word “air” … another “decent” translation of ours 

Qui fait rimer Amour et Univers…uni-vers which makes rhyme (of) love & universe
Je suis un chanteur planétaire I am a planetary singer (global)
Je plane et ne pourrai me taire I soar and nothing will silence me
Que lorsque mes ailes en poussière Only when my wings turn to dust.

 

Leave a Reply

