Lil Sharkbait & I…


*grins at Godma*

Today I brought Kenan to the swimming pool to try out his new pair of goggles, a pity Seth couldn’t join us because he had school. It was a really hot sunny afternoon! *mental note to bring sunblock next time*

Well I guess I should have bought him a pair of goggles a whole lot sooner because he was so happy that he was willing to try different things he never would have or would very reluctantly try. He loves playing with water but is afraid to let his head go under even though he knows how to hold his breath. Even going down a water slide required a lot of pep talk and encouragement! But with the pair of goggles on, it was go go go! He has learned to blow bubble underwater and even attempt to dive a little for objects I placed. He has a long way to go, but at least he is on his way there.

I was a little disappointed initially when Seth’s grandmother had gotten swimming lessons for him as I wanted to be the one to teach him the way my father taught me. But when I see how well he is able to swim now, I wonder if I could have taught him any better or swifter. What can I say? I’m proud of his achievement.

It takes a whole lot of patience and creativity to build up the confidence of children as well as to sustain their interest in the progressive lessons ahead. It is one thing to be able to swim but a whole different ball game when it comes to teaching/coaching it! ( don’t I know it….)

Some pics before we went to the 1.2m pool….(click to enlarge)

2 Responses

  1. ummmmm…….da duh da duh da duh da duh

  2. Boomshakalak! 😆

Leave a Reply

