I Love My New Knee Support!


Yup I think it is absolutely wonderful….till I find something better that is.  In fact I saw a Phiten one which cost $208 SGD and it looked really good…..just not as good as the support mine gives!

Well here is a little history first, you see I actually have an ACL 3 for my left leg which basically means a torn ligament in lay man terms.  I suffered the tear playing soccer! not rugby way back in 94.  Though I opted out of going for reconstructive surgery, I still participated in rugby and soccer games after strengthening the muscles surrounding the region to support the loss of ligament.  Of course each time I played I risked further injury but the risk was kept minimal by using a polyurethane knee support.

Just last week however, my left leg started giving me a lot of problems after the soccer game.  I might have either injured it or overstreched the muscles either way I had a hard time walking.  The polyurethane support was too thick to wear under pants or jeans and helluva hot! The normal flesh colour supports which are commonly found at the pharmacies have a tendency to ride up after a while and sometimes even causes abrasions.  

Lucky for me there is an Aviva 2008 Ironman 70.3 registration booth at Millenia Walk together with other smaller booths displaying related products for sale.  I came across the Bauerfeind products which included my knee support.  The sales rep. took my measurements but unfortunately he did not have stock on hand for my size yesterday, so he asked me to return the following day for a fitting with the correct sized one (no obigation). Oh and if your size is not within the ranges they have available, then they can take your measurements and custom order one for you.  It would take approximately a week at most…cool eh?  

When I returned today the sales rep. who served me the day before had stepped out somewhere, however he has left word with his colleague and had even written my name on the box he had reserved for me! Whoah!  The lady who took over ushered me over to a chair to put it on, but I explained to her that it would be impossible, as I was wearing a tight fitting pair of jeans.  She told me to go ahead and bring it to the rest room to try it on and to return thereafter. Double Whoah! Talk about TRUST!……..well I tried it on and loved it!  So I left it on and returned to the counter to pay for it.  And though it is a little pricey I think it was worth every cent….well I suppose it has to be otherwise how can it possibly be the best eh?  Oh and if you’re wondering I paid $169 for it.

*update 10 Sept* The local folks sent me a mail package which included catalogues of their range of products…they are indeed very professional and warm.  Great after sales service!  

Product Features:

  • An incorporated silicone insert leaves the patella pressure free and provides intermittent compression to the soft tissue of the joint leading to increased circulation, thus aiding in the resorption of swelling and edema

  • Promotes proprioception, thus heightening sensory awareness in the knee for increased joint stabilization

  • Graduated compression at the edges prevents constriction of circulation

  • Innovative knit in the popliteal region prevents bunching or pinching

  • Three dimensional knit with covered patella avoids window edema, yet keeps pressure off the knee cap

  • Medial and lateral stainless steel stays keep the support from rolling or bunching

  • Comfortable, lightweight, breathable knit will not retain heat and is machine washable


    If you are interested in their other products, I found a link to for their brochure on their German website which you can download in PDF format.  The local office address is at 111C King George’s Avenue Singapore 208559

6 Responses

  1. oooh.. definitely better than the china-brand one i’m using… had a lot of pain around the ligament area of the right knee cap when i started running again recently.. but taking Glucosamine really helped and now i can pretty much run without the knee brace.. but i still continue to use it just in case.

    anyhoo.. looks like you got yourself a good investment there.

  2. All this while I thought Glucosamine was used to treat Osteoarthritis only, didn’t realise it could help with the cartilage or ligaments…..hmmmm

    And it may be cheaper to order this one from the states, if my calculation is right you could save up to 25 dollars SG.

    cheers 😉

  3. Yes, Glucosamine is generally used to treat Osteoarthritis but it is also said to help with joint/cartilage pains… though there is some debate as to whether or not it does reduce joint pain, a lot of ppl (not suffering from Osteoarthritis) actually swear by it.
    I have become a firm believer that it has helped me manage my pain and would recommend Glucosamine to anyone.

    Besides, what doesn’t kill you, might make you stronger.. or at least be able to run with ease of mind. Bear in mind that Glucosamine contains extracts of shellfish though, so some ppl need to consult a practitioner first if they have any allergy issues. Cheers!

  4. Actually I’ve known about Glucosamine for over 15years now when I first recommended it to mom but she refused to try it. Way back then there was a product from GNC called Inholtra which had a combo of things inclusive of glucosamine to help with pain relief. Then when the doctors gave it to her she said it had no effect whatsoever for her probably because hers was a chronic case.

    Anyhow today I asked my GP if it would help with my condition and this is what she had to say…..Glucosamine is used to prevent or reduce further degeneration but that is all it does, she instead recommends that to take some anti-inflamatory pills and rest.

    Well I always knew about the debate but hey if it works for some then why not…..then again why not others??? Anyhow….I’ve got lots to last till next year since mom totally doesn’t take them now! 😉

  5. after i injured my knee my physio told me to buy the knee guard with the whole in the middle. my acl was partially torn btw

  6. Yup isn’t that the polyurethane one I mentioned which get pretty hot? Anyhow if you’re looking for a good knee support for training etc. this one is it! 😉

Leave a Reply

