Movie – Mama Mia


 

 

Starring: Meryl Streep, Amanda Seyfried, Pierce Brosnan, Stellan Skarsgård ,Colin Firth, Julie Walters, Christine Baranski

Director: Phyllida Lloyd

Oh My! I didn’t catch the Broadway Musical version so I had no clue what the storyline was about, all I knew was that it was filled with songs from one of my favourite groups Abba when I was growing up. So today with no expectations whatsoever, I caught this wonderfully written stage-to-film adaptation.  The writer/s did a brilliant job!

The casts were once again stellar! I have always found Meryl Streep to be an incredible actress, I remember her distinctly for her win for best actress in ‘The French Lieutenant’s Woman’ and thereafter I started watching all her movies, even those before that win.  She always gives her best performance in whatever role she plays and this one was no different.  

Amanda Seyfried was also a wonderful choice and her vocals was definitely the best of the lot!  The hilarious pairing of Julie Walters and Christine Baranski was a real treat not forgetting the three ‘giants’ Pierce, Stellan and Colin.  I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the movie!

Yes I understand that not everyone likes musicals, but if you do then you’re in for a real treat!  

Oh and a last note…..Critics who do not appreciate musicals for what they are should keep their critique to themselves!

10 Responses

  1. FYI… Meryl did not win for French Lieutenant’s Woman, she won best actress in 1983 for Sophie’s Choice.

  2. Hi Michelle,

    I did not specifically mention the award….fyi she won best actress for the BAFTA awards and she even won the Golden Globe in 1982. Yes she was only nominated for an Oscar but did not win that year….Well it was a close fight I reckon, considering that Katherine Hepburn another absolutely great actress won for ‘On Golden Pond’.

    cheers 🙂

  3. Hey, Julian…I’m going to catch this movie soon. Hope Gautam will love it too 🙂 (He is not a big fan of musicals).

    Let’s catch up soon ya. Miss you all…

  4. Yeap miss you all too…..hey just tell him it is a hindi movie dubbed in English with Caucasian Actors/Actresses so he will be able to relate better. 😆

  5. Hahaha…brilliant idea!!! 🙂

  6. You’re most welcome madame! *bear hugs* 😉

  7. a western bollywood movie lol!

  8. Aren’t you suppose to be marshalling or something? 😆

  9. i caught this movie about two weeks ago. Love it 🙂 Cheers one up totally!

  10. Can hardly wait to get the DVD! 😉

Leave a Reply

