Movie Watchmen 2009


watchmen 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Director : Zack Snyder

 Casts : Malin Akerman, Billy Crudup, Matthew Goode, Jackie Earle Hayley, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Patrick Wilson, Carla Gugino

 Plot : When an ex-superhero is murdered, a group of heroes forced into retirement a decade before are called together once again to investigate the murder of one of their own. What they discover is a conspiracy to change the balance of power in a world not different from our own.

 

This is movie is definitely not for everyone and is rated M18 for good reason! Some may call it Artistic and Dark Themed and sitting through 2hrs 43mins of it is no easy feat if you were mentally drained before watching it.  This adaptation of the comic book is breathtaking in parts, mentally stimulating in others and dreary in some.

Human nature leaning heavily towards the dark aspects of it, is explored in ‘Nightmarish’ sequences over at least four decades drawing close to an almost self fulfilling legacy of destruction and doom.  One may see this movie as a twisted plot to portray what happens when man plays God without a moral conscience and that murder for the greater good is acceptable. Whilst others may see this movie simply as human nature allowing itself to manifest itself through morally challenged choices.

Well if you decide to watch it, perhaps you can share your keen insights of the movie with me.  Although I have not read or seen this comic book, I must say that I was intrigued and rather enjoyed this movie’s adaptation.  I can only imagine what a monumental task it must have been, to make this comic book come alive they way it did!

julianwebsig

6 Responses

  1. I think this movie will be out in cineme in April or so………………….

  2. In Vietnam? Wow that’s a little late, are you planning to sneak in? 😛

  3. Watched this already and I wasn’t impressed.

    Though the CGI and special effects were pretty cool, the plot had me checking my watch regularly, hoping that it was gonna end soon.

    Imagine my dismay when the show was still going on after 2.5hrs. I also noticed several people get up and leave about 2hrs into the show.

    Overall, i liked that the show gave Superheroes a “human” touch.. in that even heroes are “flawed”.. (using the term loosely).

    I just don’t think you can make a 2hr45min show about a bunch of superheroes that not everyone has heard of and still keep viewers on the edge of their seats, not in anticipation to leave, but in eagerness for what might happen next.

    Now maybe if they made a show about the Superfriends or Justice League.. or GI Joe or M.A.S.K or Centurions.. i’d be at the edge of my seat.

    Just my two cents anyway.

    • Heya mate! I already mentioned it isn’t for everyone….there alot of reasons for this but I shan’t go into them lest everyone who wants to watch it have.

      However did you notice that only the giant smurf had SUPER powers, the rest of them only had perhaps agility, speed and exceptional strength! Olympians in suits? 😆

  4. I caught watchmen on Sunday! And it totally won me over. I LOVED it.

    I’m not really impressed by the effects and main story plot, all revolving around technically the same things superhero movies do.. saving the world, the world is saved and so on and so forth. But I loved the fashion the story slowly unfolds, from the beginning with the scene of the smiley face badge til the end.

    I guess I like the movie so much simply because of the character Rorschach. He was … kinda cute! Ruthless, stubborn but with good intentions at heart.

    I cried when he died 😦

    Oh, and I like the ending with the camera flashing at Roschach’s journal, too!

  5. Yup I had forgotten to mention how impressed I was that they managed to keep to and even excel in the fashion department for the four decades.

    Roschach’s character would have more appealing if they had used a different actor. Still I think he did a great job, just that his looks to me is better suited for other roles other than that of a hero.

    😉

Leave a Reply

