Movie – The Tale of Despereaux


Starring: Matthew Broderick, Robbie Coltrane, Dustin Hoffman, Richard Jenkins, Kevin Kline, Frank Langella, William H. Macy, James Nesbitt, Tracey Ullman, Sigourney Weaver, Frances Conroy, Tony Hale, Ciaran Hinds, Christopher Lloyd, Stanley Tucci, Emma Watson

Director: Sam Fell, Rob Stevenhagen

The kids love it! In fact when it was over they were already asking me to buy the DVD.  A little strange, I fancy considering that the overall storyline was a little complex and perhaps a little too intense for kids to really grasp or thoroughly enjoy.

For me personally I am a little lukewarm as to how I feel about the movie.  The mouse was adorably cute, the lessons passed on to the kids about courage, honour and integrity is refreshing and I liked journeying into the ‘Louvre’ like world.  However I felt that it lacked in areas of being outright fun and humourous!  Perhaps a little dry witted? I dare say……

Still it has the makings of a Classic! Even though it is not entirely original!….see what I mean about being lukewarm? *grins*

julianwebsig

Leave a Reply

