Why Am I Still Doing Shift Work?


Funny how time whizzes past you and before you know it, you’ve been doing shift work for over fifteen years. When I first started out young and energetic, shift work was a breeze and quite frankly it has not yet gotten the better of me yet. Meaning that so long as I get enough proper sleep, I don’t as they say feel it in my bones.

It is not like I have not considered doing an office hour job, it’s just that believe it or not I get to spend more time with my kids. I am in fact cherishing every moment I get to spend with them because I know that as they grow older, they will soon have lots of their own activities and friends. And the day will come, when they will have little need of me. Perhaps when that time comes, I’ll be able to secure a good position doing an office hour job.

Why am I even blogging about this? Well today I was informed that there was an opening in the marketing department, and someone in Management wanted to recommend me for the job because he felt that I was the best candidate for it. The potential earnings in that job would be far better of course and their payout for year end bonuses is by far greater so long as the targets are met. The thing is, I am pretty certain the hours will be longer. And NO I am in no way afraid of hard work, it’s just that the time I have with my kids is very precious to me. If the same or better job offer comes to me five years down the road, honestly I would not even hesitate!

Here are a few pros and cons of doing shift work….

PROS

  • More family time well for me anyways
  • Shift Allowance & Transport (Transport allowance is meager)
  • I get to shop in practically empty or less crowded Department stores etc. because everyone else is working.
  • I see more daylight than the average office worker.
  • I get to use the gym without having to wait for the equipment to be free.
  • I get to run errands or do my own thing in the morning when I’m doing the afternoon or night shift.
  • There are less or no distractions in the office during the night shift so a lot more office work can be done productively.

CONS

  • Outings or meetings with family and friends have to be done according to my schedule.
  • Parties at night is minimal ( not sure if this is really a con…hee hee)
  • I don’t get to be with the kids or kiss them goodnight when I’m doing the afternoon or night shift.
  • Can be tiring if I don’t get proper rest.

Can’t really thing of any other cons at this time….

Well we all lie on the bed we make for ourselves. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Irony right? Shift work is sucky, but when your mind is clear and you place out all the pros and cons, shift work is actually better than ‘normal’ work in many ways. 😐 Haha.

  2. Erm you’re no longer doing shift right or are you? And I guess only if you’ve done shift like we have, will you fully understand…

    😉

Leave a comment