H.U.G.S.

If you noticed on the far right of my blog there is category called blogseeds, well you will now see a link entitled HUGS under that category. 

Basically it is an idea taken of Twitter, where family and friends or office colleagues who have the ability to post to a blog will see a short form at the top of the home page with a post box and tags. There they can post short messages about what they’re doing.  

They can click on an author to see all their messages, or a tag to see all of the messages in a given tag (which is normally uses for projects). There are RSS feeds for everything: the entire prologue, each author, each tag, and even combination or searches can be subscribed to in your RSS reader.

Just like a blog post, each message in the prologue can have comments, and of course each comments thread has its own RSS feed.

This invite is for all you family and friends who have a wordpress account and want to participate.  I see no reason to set it to Private lest you all want it to be exclusive hee hee

Anyhow the following people with WordPress accounts currently have access to post.  If you want to join in, simply signup and let me know.

  • Geraldine
  • Josh
  • Eileen

Happy Micro Blogging!

Book Review – The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Plot Outline : A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.

The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, “each the other’s world entire,” are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, it is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation.

This is a powerful story of love between a father and a son, the fight for survival and humanity. In it’s ingenious simplicity, the story shows us the father’s struggle with the complexities of life choices he has to constantly make during their arduous journey. A wonderfully written book with just the right amount of prose to make this a poetic masterpiece.

Cormac McCarthy won the Pulitzer Prize For Fiction for this book and now the movie is in the making. Starring Viggo Mortensen as the father and Kodi Smit-McPhee as the son.

Inexcusable Indifference!

I spent practically the whole day nursing a cold, lying in bed and popping chlorpheniramine almost every two to three hours.  Why? because I desperately needed to recover before going to work for the night shift.

Then in the evening feeling a little ‘spaced out’ and a little breathless, I willed myself to get on the bicycle to fetch my son from kindergarten.  As I was waiting to cycle across the last traffic light towards his centre, it happened! 

A motocyclist was thrown off this bike approximately 10 metres from where I stood.  I just went numb all over, and looked on as if it were a dream.  One chap rode his motorbike to aid the fallen rider, while another got out of his car to help.  And all I did was looked on even though I was the closest!  The rider got up with abrasions on his arm and a little winded from the fall. When the light finally changed, I rode on to fetch my son.  When I rode back near the spot, I saw the rider riding past me.

The incident kept playing on my mind the whole evening! If I could will myself to pick my son why didn’t I will myself to go to the rider’s aid?  What if it were somebody I knew??  I am almost certain that if I were not sedated, I would have acted differently but still I cannot help but feel ashamed!